International Women’s Day Dinner

candlesI love themed parties.

I love planning & hosting.

I also love celebrating friends.

There are so many thoughts on celebrating International Women’s Day. I truly feel like I have so many privileges & opportunities, that because of this, it is my duty (wrong word?) to stand up for those who don’t have these rights. I stand with people who want to dress with less, & those who want to fully cover up. For women who want to work & be paid for their education & experience, & for women who want to stay home & raise children (or not raise kids). I think feminism is for those pro-and against abortion. For men & for women. It’s about equality.

For me, hosting a dinner on International Women’s Day was a no brainer. I have been looking for a reason to get a group of girlfriends together & have a sit-down dinner. What better day than this?

My friends are kind. These are the women who will invite you to sit next to them when you don’t know anyone. My friends are brave. These girls are survivors (of cancer, sexual assault, negative stereotypes, depression, ect). My friends are strong AF (from playing collegiate sports to just kicking butt in life). My friends are generous. They’re the ones I can call when I need a space to host a party, a ride to the airport, or even a few dollars for gas. They’re my inspiration, encouragement, & wisdom givers everyday. Regardless of their religious belief, each one points me to Jesus. I’m so thankful for these women.

Friendships where women help build each other up are so important.

I wish I could have invited a million more women to dinner last night, but one thing about dinner parties is you want to keep them relatively small to foster intimate conversations.

Don’t worry though, there will be another one & if you want you’re definitely invited to it!

blur grou

The menu from last night:

Onion Tart

Antipasti Pizza

Tarragon Roasted Beet & Endive Salad

Orecchiette with Sausage, Chard, & Parsnips

Mango Napoleons w/ Cream

Honey- Poached Pears w/ Brandied Mascarpone

Leave a Reply

